Ginger beer, the spicier cousin of ginger ale, is a non-alcoholic beverage made by fermenting sugar, ginger, and water with the help of yeast and cultures. Unless sugar is off-limits, a glass of crisp ginger beer is safe for most foodies to enjoy, including those who follow strict dietary guidelines. However, with the word “beer” in its name, gluten-sensitive ginger brew drinkers may have concerns about its safety, but the answer isn’t as straightforward as it may seem.
Because it doesn’t typically contain grains essential to alcoholic beer brewing like barley and wheat, which contain gluten, ginger beer is almost always gluten-free. Much like hard cider which too is naturally gluten-free, ginger beer is typically safe for those with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease. As long as no gluten-containing grains are added during production, ginger beer is a suitable, refreshing option for most gluten-free diets. The ginger beer fermentation process relies on yeast, which may raise some questions, but since it is a fungus that does not inherently contain gluten, it shouldn’t pose a threat, especially if a SCOBY (symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast) or dry yeast was used. However, if the ginger beer was made with brewer’s yeast, it may contain gluten. Some brewer’s yeast are gluten-free though, so it ultimately depends on the specific brand used to make the drink.
How to know if your favorite ginger beer is gluten-free
Whether you’re filling that iconic tin cup with vodka and topping it with the spicy brew to fashion a Moscow mule, using ginger beer to make flavorful, tender chicken, or just enjoying it alongside lunch, gluten-sensitive foodies remain mindful of the ginger beer brand they consume. After all, the United States Food and Drug Administration does not require package labeling to indicate the presence of gluten in a food or beverage. While the agency mandates that a complete list of ingredients used in a beverage be provided, meaning ginger beer labels will indicate if they contain wheat, barley, or other grains, they may not specify the type of yeast used in the brewing process due to the nuances of labeling regulations. Labeling a beverage as gluten-free is optional per USDA guidelines, but many health-conscious ginger brands may feature the “GF” label to market their drink to a wider audience.
If the label on your supermarket’s ginger beer selection is too vague, there are plenty of certified gluten-free options to look for. Opt for brands like Barritt’s Original, Betty Buzz, Bundaberg, Cock’n Bull, Fever-Tree Premium, Hollows & Fentimans, Old Jamaica, and Regatta Ginger Beer, all of which are gluten-free. Many beverage brands may have more detailed nutrition and allergy information listed on their website than their packaging label, so a quick internet search might give you the peace of mind you need to enjoy the bubbly, peppery taste of an ice-cold ginger beer.