From some of the best fast food french fries to the best fast food breakfast sandwich, there’s a lot to love about Carl’s Jr. It even has one of the quickest fast food chain drive-thru lines, second only to Taco Bell.
But any chain can be difficult to navigate for those with gluten intolerance. Fortunately, Carl’s Jr. keeps a pretty thorough logbook of allergens. When it comes to fries specifically, Carl’s Jr.’s natural-cut fries are gluten-free. But the waffle fries do contain wheat. And because of that, customers should still be wary of cross-contamination. It can happen because of the way some restaurant fryers work. Several baskets may share a single oil vat, or a specific location may not have systems in place to prevent baskets from being used in several vats. As such, those with severe allergies should speak to staff first to ensure contamination is impossible.
Which fries are gluten-free?
Some customers have mentioned that Carl’s Jr. has dedicated fryers for gluten-free items to avoid cross-contamination, but there’s not an official confirmation of this from the chain’s website. Additionally, some have complained that even after making allergy requests, they still had flare-ups due to carelessness from the chain’s staff.
Another problem is that Carl’s Jr.’s regular fries are one of the only gluten-free items on the entire menu. While all burgers at Carl’s Jr. come with the option of using a lettuce wrap instead of a bun to eliminate gluten, the regular fry is literally the only side that’s naturally gluten-free. Thankfully, the dipping sauces are also gluten-free so customers with allergies can enjoy some tasty fries and sauce pairings.